Fethiye is a city in the southwest area of Turkey. It’s within the district of Mügla Province. It is also referred to as Telmessos. Telmessos is the ancient city situated in that place. Today only its ruins remain in that area. Fethiye is an old city that boasts of its beaches and resorts. It has few old structures and ancient structures remaining due to the 1958 earthquake.
It has a natural inner harbour that is strategically located thus making the area protected from storms. Because of this, it is considered as a perfect spot for sailing. The area has steady winds, clear waters, and a very scenic view. The city is a blend of ethnic and urbane lifestyle. The Paspatur area is a bazaar that caters most of the visitors’ shopping needs and the town center provides a bustling market for fish, fruit, and vegetables.
The ruins of Telmessos provide viewing of remaining rock tombs and burial sites. Other archaeological sites are tomb of Amythas, the numerous Lycian-type sarcophagi, and fortress remains. Amythas is said to be the king of Telmessos during the Hellenistic era. Its facade is an iconic temple. The remains of Lycian-type sarcophagi can be seen throughout the city. A sarcophagus near the government house is very noticeable; Ruins of the fortress stand and remaining walls were built in the 11th century.
Weather in Fethiye is Mediterranean. It’s hot and dry during the long summer and rainy during winter. Getting around the city is through buses, cars, and by foot.
The Fethiye Archaeological Museum is filled with a variety of ancient artifacts. Its collection includes remnants from the various civilizations that had graced its land. Among its highlights are the artifacts from the Lycian times. The museum was originally a Byzantine Monastery church. It is open daily except for Mondays.
Another recent attraction in Fethiye is the Kayaköy or Karmylassos. It is an extraordinary ghost village located just a few kilometres away from the town. It has houses, churches, streets, and fountains all in good shape. Its upper church courtyard has a fine mosaic work and the village center has a well-preserved fountain area. It was an abandoned village in 1923 because of a shift in population. Since then it hasn’t been occupied and has quite an eerie character.