New Hampshire

New Hampshire is a state in the region of New England which is located in the northeastern part of the United States of America. It is named after Hampshire, a southern English county. In the north, it is bordered by the Quebec (Canadian province), Massachusetts to the south, Vermont to the west, and to the east by Maine and the Atlantic Ocean. New Hampshire comes 44th in land area and 46th in total area among the 50 states. In population it ranks 41st. Concord is the state capital, while the largest city is Manchester.

The state of New Hampshire broke off from the sovereignty of Great Britain in January 1776 and became the first post-colonial sovereign nation. It is also one of the 13 states that originally formed the United States of America and the 9th state to sign the ratification of United States Constitution. New Hampshire is also known as the 1st state in the United States to have its own constitution. In addition, it is the only state without a general sales tax and personal income tax for local and state level. The motto of the state says, “Live Free or Die.” It is also called by the nickname “The Granite State” to describe it’s geology as well as the state’s tradition of being self-sufficient.

Some of the prominent individuals who hail from the state of New Hampshire include Nicholas Gilman (a founding father), Senator Daniel Webster, Mary Baker Eddy (founder of the Christian Science ), Robert Frost the poet, and Dan Brown an author. President Franklin Pierce was a native of New Hampshire.

New Hampshire Top Cities