Grand Prix of Monaco

Grand Prix of Monaco 400
1996 Monaco Grand Prix warm-up laps
Photo by: Arrr!, Creative Commons

The Grand Prix of Monaco is a world famous Formula One race held at the Circuit de Monaco every year. The first race was held in 1929, the Grand Prix has become one of the most celebrated motorsport races much like the 24 Hours of Le Mans Race and the Indianapolis 500.

The race is conducted in the Monaco streets that feature a tunnel and tight corners. It is one of the major race tracks and a dangerous place for racing. The first race was won by William Grover-Williams in the year 1929. In the 1960s Graham Hill recorded five Monaco wins. The highest number of wins here was Ayrton Senna from Brazil who recorded six victories in between the years 1989-1993.

The Circuit de Monaco features the streets of La Condamine and Monte Carlo. The circuit features tight corners, tunnels and also two drivers had crashed into the harbor which is located close to the circuit. Every year the Monaco Grand Prix is organized by Automobile Club de Monaco. It also differs from other races where the practice session is held here on Thursday whereas the practice sessions for the other races are held on Fridays. In addition the race starts at 3:30 pm whereas the European races starts at 3:00 pm.

The race circuit is erected six months before the start of the race. At the end of the race, because of the absence of a stage a portion of the track is cordoned off. The first three drivers leave their cars and proceed the royal box while their cars are inspected. At this place the podium, the ceremony is conducted which allows for the people a closer proximity to the winner compared to the other races.

Graham Hill from Britain was victorious here for five times and in the 1960’s he was also called “Mr. Monaco” and “King of Monaco”. Michael Schumacher recorded five victories, the current winner is Jenson Button who drove a Brawn-Mercedes car. Team McLaren recorded highest number of victories with 15 starting from 1984 and the last victory was in 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *