Seto Sea, the Inland Sea of Japan

Seto Sea 400
Seto Sea, the Inland Sea of Japan
Photo by: Paul Mannix, Creative Commons

Known as the Seto Sea, the Inland Sea of Japan is the body of water which separates the three main islands of the country, Honshu, Kyushu, and Shikoku. Not only does it serve as an international waterway that connects the Sea of Japan to the Pacific Ocean, it is a valuable sea transport to industrial parts in the Kansai region because of its connection to Osaka Bay. The waterway runs from east to west in about 450 km and has a width of 15 to 55 km from south to north. An approximate of 3,000 islands can be found here separated by the eastern, central, and western parts.

The Inland sea is a rich well of biodiversity with more than 500 marine species inhabiting its waters. Just some of the popular faunas are the ayu, the finless porpoise, horseshoe crabs, and even great white sharks. When it comes to industry, the Inland sea is considered as a very productive section in modern Japan. The primary industries surrounding its waters are from the cities of Kurashiki, Fukuyama, Ube, and Kobe. Tourism helps the area because of the mixture of the sea’s refreshing mix with Japan’s climate and picturesque landscape.

The coastal area of the sea, in particular, is one very popular choice for tourists whenever they visit Japan because of the unique beauty of its waters. The length of the coastal area named Setonaikai National Park, considered as one of the oldest parks in the country. The Itsukushima Shrine also found in the area of Inland sea is a member of UNESCO’s list of Heritage Sites around the world. More famous tourist centers are Kyoto and Tokyo with their appealing metropolitan structures and Shodoshima, also known as the “island of olives”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *