Democratic Republic of the Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) was formerly known as Zaire, until 1997 when it officially changed its name. In terms of land area, the country is the third largest in the whole of Africa. It is bound by the Central African Republic, Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Zambia, Angola, and The Republic of the Congo. This country is bursting at the seams with natural geographic formations, from vast wilderness to virgin rainforests, form wild rivers to active volcanoes.

In terms of political stability and civil safety, this country leaves much to be desired. The government is not as apparent as you would want them to be. As such, the tourism industry has never been mainstream, but reserved only to those who have the heart to brave DRC’s jungles. Underneath the bureaucracy, however, is a tourist haven waiting to happen. The first step to becoming a mature political body happened in July 2006, when DRC held its first national elections, heavily guarded by UN peacekeeping forces. In the future, with a stable government in place, we can expect DRC to cash in on its UNESCO biospheres and unique ecosystems.

If you are planning to travel to DRC, it is recommended that you consult updated travel bulletins first before booking your flight. At present, existing travel bulletins warn against extreme risks to tourists, especially those who are traveling to DRC’s eastern and northeastern regions. The rest of DRC, on the other hand, pose high security risks, owing to the ensuing political instability and street crimes.

Democratic Republic of the Congo Top Cities

Democratic Republic of the Congo Famous Landmarks