Foz do Iguacu

The beautiful Iguazu Waterfalls of Foz do Iguacu.

Photo by: Henrique Costapereira , Creative Commons

Foz do Iguacu is a city in Paraná state of Brazil. It is the eleventh largest city in the country. It is one of the most famous tourist destinations in Brazil. It is situated at the boundaries of Brazil, Argentina, and Paraguay. Its main attraction is the Iguaçu falls. The name Iguacu (Great Waters) is a native name from the Guarani Indians who once lived in that area. Foz do Iguacu also has a sub-tropical climate. It has two seasons which is summer and winter. In summer the atmosphere is humid and hot. In winter, the city experiences a unique blend of dry and cool weather.

Foz do Iguacu’s attraction is mostly made of bodies of water. These are the Iguacu falls, Itaipu Hydro-electric station, and Pesca do Dourado. The Iguacu Falls is a wide falls that stretches up to 2.7 kilometer wide and averages in 72 meters high. It’s a long stretch of waterfalls that some parts of it are already in the border of Argentina. It has a water flow that is three times that of the Niagra falls. It’s simply a magnificent sight that shouldn’t be missed upon visiting Brazil. The Itaipu Hydro-electric station or also known as Itaipu Dam is the second largest hydro-electric power generator in the world. It is located at northwest of the Iguacu falls. There are visits conducted daily from Monday to Saturday to the dam, it also includes an audio-visual presentation of how it works. And lastly, Pesca do Dourado is an important fishing competition held at the last week of October and Foz do Iguacu is its chosen venue.

The Parque Nacional do Iguacu is a notable location in Foz do Iguacu. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is protected by the IBAMA or Brazilian Institute of Environment and Renewable Natural Resources. This park has a scenique view of the waterfalls as compared to the Argentinean park side which offers an up close view.

Getting to Foz do Iguacu is through land and air. Flights going to this city are from Curitiba, Sao Paolo, Brasilia, Salvador, Rio de Jãneiro, and Belém. There is bus transportation to and from this city that travels daily from 5 am ‘til midnight. Bridges that connect this city to bordering countries are also interesting. There is the Ponte de Amizade or Friendship Bridge that connects Brazil and Paraguay. And another is the Ponte da Fraternidade or Fraternity Bridge that connects Brazil and Argentina.

Another thing to go to when visiting in Foz do Iguacu is the Marco das Três Fronteiras (Landmark of the Three Borders). There you will find the obelisk marker colored with the three colors of the three countries namely Brazil, Argentina, and Paraguay. This site also provides superbly unique views of the surrounding area.

One response to “Foz do Iguacu”

  1. POOP says:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *