Tate Modern

Tate Modern 400
Tate Modern
Photo by: ReservasdeCoches, Creative Commons

Tate Modern in London is a popular art gallery with over 4.5 million visitors every year. The collection in Tate Modern consists of works from international modern and contemporary art dating from 1990 onwards. The collection is displayed on the third and fifth levels of the building. When they first opened in the year 2000, the collections were not displayed in chronological order, it was displayed in thematic order instead.

The collection was classified into four groups: History-Memory-Society; Nude-Action-Body; Landscape-Matter-Environment and Still Life-Object-Real Life. You can enter Tate Modern for free except for major exhibitions or events. They are open from Sunday to Thursday, 10:00am until 6:00pm; Friday and Saturday from 10:00am to 8:00pm. They are closed December 24, 25, 26 and resumes on January 1.

Level three focuses on abstract, expressionism and abstract expressionism. Claude Monet, Barnett Newman, Anish Kapoor, Tacita Dean, Mark Rothko and Henri Matisse are the artists whose work is displayed here. Level three also has a sexually explicit drawing, which was made by a French artist called the Proper Man. This painting attempts to explore the tension between old and new attitude to sexuality within the urban environment.

Level five on the other hand focuses on Cubism, futurism, Vorticism and Pop Art. Artists such as Pablo Picasso, Roy Lichtenstein, and Andy Warhol have their works displayed. They have also included photographic art by Eugene Atget.

Level one, also known as the Turbine Hall, was used to house the electricity generators for the old power station. Now it is five-story tall with 3,400 square meters floor space and is used to display large commissioned works by contemporary artists between October and March of each year.

For more info, you may visit the official Tate Modern website.

London Famous Landmarks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *